What Our Guests Have to Say:

Aggregate Review : All Reviews  4.9 out of 5 , 15 votes , 15 reviews
Amazing Stay!  

Our stay at the Oldest Stone Farm was amazing! We were only there for one night, but we were able to arrive in the early afternoon, meet John, and get an intro to all of the animals. There so many different ones (emus, peacocks, pigs, dogs, parrots, turkeys, goats, cows, etc. etc.). We were able to pet the dogs, pigs, and cats, which was a lot of fun. They were all very sweet and friendly. We were extremely lucky in

...more
April 22, 2019     
Amazing Stay!  
Claire    April 22, 2019  

Our stay at the Oldest Stone Farm was amazing! We were only there for one night, but we were able to arrive in the early afternoon, meet John, and get an intro to all of the animals. There so many different ones (emus, peacocks, pigs, dogs, parrots, turkeys, goats, cows, etc. etc.). We were able to pet the dogs, pigs, and cats, which was a lot of fun. They were all very sweet and friendly. We were extremely lucky in that two of the dogs had just had litters of puppies! So naturally, we spent most of our time covered in puppy kisses. The room we stayed in was very clean and beautiful. The house definitely shows it's age, but John has it fixed up nicely. We were allowed to use the gorgeous kitchen (we didn't end up using it but should have). John was really welcoming and kind but also gave us our space. Pretending to live on a farm for a day was well worth the trip!

We Will Be Back!  

Stayed at the farm with my 4 year old daughter, who is afraid of dogs. By the end of the weekend she loved all of them! We had a beautiful, memorable time walking around the farm, getting to know the animals, and eating dinner with John, Nate, and the other guests. From splashing in the watering hole to driving over to Harpers Ferry for a day trip, this was a perfect weekend.

This may be a farm, but the decor

...more
April 17, 2017     
We Will Be Back!  
Robin    April 17, 2017  

Stayed at the farm with my 4 year old daughter, who is afraid of dogs. By the end of the weekend she loved all of them! We had a beautiful, memorable time walking around the farm, getting to know the animals, and eating dinner with John, Nate, and the other guests. From splashing in the watering hole to driving over to Harpers Ferry for a day trip, this was a perfect weekend.

This may be a farm, but the decor is impeccable. Every element in every room photo-worthy (and not in a country kitsch way). We'll be back!

10 Yr. Old Farm Meets Restoration Hardware  

We had a great time at John's farm. I'd describe it as 100 year old farm meets Restoration Hardware. Our kids loved playing and feeding the animals and we (the adults) had a nice relaxing time. John was a welcoming and friendly host and didn't mind us crashing his Thanksgiving Day lunch. But if you stay here be prepared for sharing the kitchen with a rabbit, a piglet, a chicken and a parrot. The dogs and the goats are also

...more
November 10, 2018     
10 Yr. Old Farm Meets Restoration Hardware  
Jason    November 10, 2018  

We had a great time at John's farm. I'd describe it as 100 year old farm meets Restoration Hardware. Our kids loved playing and feeding the animals and we (the adults) had a nice relaxing time. John was a welcoming and friendly host and didn't mind us crashing his Thanksgiving Day lunch. But if you stay here be prepared for sharing the kitchen with a rabbit, a piglet, a chicken and a parrot. The dogs and the goats are also very friendly.

A Must for Animal Lovers!  

This was an amazing place to stay. The house, grounds and animals alone are an experience to travel for. It is a must-visit for the animal lover. 🙂 We enjoyed meeting all the animals and getting to know John, Nate and other guests while we were there. We went on a lovely morning hike around the property (hiking boots come on handy here). John gave us multiple recommendations for restaurants in the area which were spot on. We also enjoyed

...more
October 15, 2017     
A Must for Animal Lovers!  
Alexandra    October 15, 2017  

This was an amazing place to stay. The house, grounds and animals alone are an experience to travel for. It is a must-visit for the animal lover. 🙂 We enjoyed meeting all the animals and getting to know John, Nate and other guests while we were there. We went on a lovely morning hike around the property (hiking boots come on handy here). John gave us multiple recommendations for restaurants in the area which were spot on. We also enjoyed a meal under the stars with John, Nate and friends. Beautiful home, sweet animals and the most welcoming people. Highly recommend.

About Our Visit to the Farm  

We had a fantastic time. It's more of an "experience" than a lodging. Historic home, every kind of farm animal imaginable, and were treated more like friends than guests. Not for everyone, but if this is your kind of thing you will really, really enjoy your stay.

October 20, 2017     
What a Place!  

This is a magical place, full of love and wonder. You'll be hosted by incredibly kind and lovely people and surrounded by a menagerie of fun and interesting animals. Can't wait to return!

May 9, 2015     
Can't Wait to Go Back  

My kids and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at John's farm. Not only were John and his family (to include the dogs)gracious and friendly hosts who made us feel at home as soon as we pulled in, they have every animal you could think of keeping us busy and laughing all day, with plenty of space to run around or sneak away for a good book, and comfortable accommodations far beyond what you would expect on a farm. Also, his

...more
April 10, 2014     
Can't Wait to Go Back  
Christina    April 10, 2014  

My kids and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at John's farm. Not only were John and his family (to include the dogs)gracious and friendly hosts who made us feel at home as soon as we pulled in, they have every animal you could think of keeping us busy and laughing all day, with plenty of space to run around or sneak away for a good book, and comfortable accommodations far beyond what you would expect on a farm. Also, his place is close to Harpers Ferry for fun family activities at River Riders. We will definitely go back!

Perfect for Our Group  

We really had a magical time on your farm! My kids (ages 8 and 10) will never forget their time with the animals-- particularly the puppies, but also feeding the baby goats, petting the horses, feeding the pigs, collecting quail eggs (the list goes on and on). We all loved how open John was -- he showed us around and we had free reign to explore as we wished. The fires in the fire pit each night, watching the moon

...more
May 20, 2013     
Perfect for Our Group  
Stephanie    May 20, 2013  

We really had a magical time on your farm! My kids (ages 8 and 10) will never forget their time with the animals-- particularly the puppies, but also feeding the baby goats, petting the horses, feeding the pigs, collecting quail eggs (the list goes on and on). We all loved how open John was -- he showed us around and we had free reign to explore as we wished. The fires in the fire pit each night, watching the moon rise and checking out the constellations also were highlights. We felt welcome and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Taking the bunk room (accommodating 6 of us) was perfect for my group.

AMAZING Weekend Getaway  

Thank you for an AMAZING weekend getaway full of rest, relaxation, and serenity. The farm is so beautiful and the decor of the house is breathtaking. I can't wait to stay here again.

July 6, 2016     
A slice of heaven on earth.  

This lovely little farm is an absolute must-see for anyone in the DC area and beyond, especially if you're looking to get away and unplug for a few days. The antique/rustic decor is immaculate, the animals are varied and all charming, and the hosts, John and Nate, are the kind of people you can waste an entire Sunday sitting and drinking coffee with. I was lucky enough to spend a very memorable birthday weekend here and I have zero complaints!

...more
April 17, 2017     
A slice of heaven on earth.  
Erin    April 17, 2017  

This lovely little farm is an absolute must-see for anyone in the DC area and beyond, especially if you're looking to get away and unplug for a few days. The antique/rustic decor is immaculate, the animals are varied and all charming, and the hosts, John and Nate, are the kind of people you can waste an entire Sunday sitting and drinking coffee with. I was lucky enough to spend a very memorable birthday weekend here and I have zero complaints!

A Wonderful Experience  

Oldestone is an experience you wear boots to and leave happy from;
it is not just a place to stay. John and Nate are passionate about their farm, their animals and just are good fun to spend time with. My husband and I visited on a fluke day of no electricity - due to no fault of our hosts. We were without running water, but still enjoyed ourselves immensely. The rooms are lovely and unique. We shared ours with a

...more
October 3, 2017     
A Wonderful Experience  
Kimberly    October 3, 2017  

Oldestone is an experience you wear boots to and leave happy from;
it is not just a place to stay. John and Nate are passionate about their farm, their animals and just are good fun to spend time with. My husband and I visited on a fluke day of no electricity - due to no fault of our hosts. We were without running water, but still enjoyed ourselves immensely. The rooms are lovely and unique. We shared ours with a romantic wisteria branch. The animals are wonderful from friendly potbelly pigs to flirtatious parrots. Holding 6-week old Maple, the kitten, was a highlight as well. We'll be back again.

Bachelorette Weekend  

We had an incredible Bachelorette weekend at John's farm! This place reminds me of Pride and Prejudice mixed with Dr. Dolittle and throw a little Miss Honey's house from Matilda. We were fortunate enough to have arrived when there were 12 week old labradoodles. If you love animals, this is a magical place. If you are allergic to animals, make sure you bring some Claritin. John has gathered a mini Noah's arc from goats to emus to peacocks to pigs

...more
May 27, 2018     
Bachelorette Weekend  
Sylvia    May 27, 2018  

We had an incredible Bachelorette weekend at John's farm! This place reminds me of Pride and Prejudice mixed with Dr. Dolittle and throw a little Miss Honey's house from Matilda. We were fortunate enough to have arrived when there were 12 week old labradoodles. If you love animals, this is a magical place. If you are allergic to animals, make sure you bring some Claritin. John has gathered a mini Noah's arc from goats to emus to peacocks to pigs to horses to baby bunnies to a macaw to cows to chicken to ducks. John also provides an amazing cooking service. This was perfect for our group of 13 girls as we didn't want to spend extra time trying to figure out food options. We had amazing meatballs, couscous with vegetables, salsa, tomatoes with mozzarella, and snacks as we arrived our first night. On our last morning we woke up with an INCREDIBLE brunch waiting us: Fresh watermelon with herbs, scrambled eggs, fresh breads, cheese and spinach pastries, potatoes with onions and deliciousness, and other necessities. This was vital since the night before we went to the local Honky Tonk bar which did not disappoint! John is an amazing communicator, a pleasure to get to know, and is super helpful on what to do in the area and recommendations. We did a hike in Harper's Ferry, a wine tasting in Virginia, and then line dancing at Rainbow Road. The rooms on the first and second levels are beautiful. Very comfortable and clean. On the first floor there is a porch where you look out onto where the goats live. The 3rd floor is all bunk beds and more of a camp style vibe. This is a farm so bring farm boots or closed toed shoes. Expect to get a little bit dirty and smelly as the dogs are super friendly and love some attention. There are plenty of fans throughout and it never felt hot even when the outside temperature was in the 80's. My only warning is that there is only 1 shower. Luckily the group of girls were super easy and everyone was able to get in an out fast. This place is incredibly unique and we are so happy to have celebrated our best friend's bachelorette here.

A Magical Place!  

My husband rented out the farmhouse for my 40th birthday so we could enjoy a lovely weekend with friends and family! This was the most amazing birthday I have ever had!

You can tell the thought and love put into every aspect of the farm. The house is relaxing, the beds are comfy and the grounds and animals are wonderful! We are so thankful for John and his family for sharing this magical place. And thanks for the birthday fireworks

...more
June 29, 2017     
A Magical Place!  
Amy    June 29, 2017  

My husband rented out the farmhouse for my 40th birthday so we could enjoy a lovely weekend with friends and family! This was the most amazing birthday I have ever had!

You can tell the thought and love put into every aspect of the farm. The house is relaxing, the beds are comfy and the grounds and animals are wonderful! We are so thankful for John and his family for sharing this magical place. And thanks for the birthday fireworks and sparklers too!

Nate and Tiffany, you are amazing! Thank you for treating us like family, spending time showing us around, introducing us to the animals, and making such a lovely birthday dinner (and breakfast) for my friends and I.

This ended up being more than just a get away from the city. We made a lasting memory and new friends in a place that lives up to being "almost heaven".

Amazing  

Absolutely amazing place. Second time visiting and I will definitely be back!

July 22, 2018     
Working Farm  

A working farm indeed! Probably not the best fit for my my husband and our baby daughter, especially because our little one was having some issues and we had forgotten our baby monitor. The shared bath was not ideal for us nor was the lighting set up in the bedroom. I also thought breakfast was included but must have read the profile incorrectly. That said, John and his kids were phenomenal. The animals were loud but adorable. The host was

...more
May 1, 2015     
Working Farm  
Donna    May 1, 2015  

A working farm indeed! Probably not the best fit for my my husband and our baby daughter, especially because our little one was having some issues and we had forgotten our baby monitor. The shared bath was not ideal for us nor was the lighting set up in the bedroom. I also thought breakfast was included but must have read the profile incorrectly. That said, John and his kids were phenomenal. The animals were loud but adorable. The host was also very gracious about helping us with our daughter's need to get back home.